Shellac – The Hardcore Manicure!

I’m back on Shellac!

As much as I love trying different coloured nail polishes, I was tired of my nails chipping and looking unkempt just days after applying polish. No matter how good the nail polish or how expensive the brand, I don’t think there’s any DIY nail polish that is 100% chip resistant!

So after 9 months of constantly trying new polishes, I went back to my old reliable; Shellac! For those of you who don’t know what I’m yapping about… here’s a little summary:

What is Shellac?

The most talked-about nail innovation since gels / acrylics! CND (Creative Nail Design) Shellac is a mix of traditional nail polish and UV gel polish, blended together to create a consistency which is thin enough to be applied like regular nail polish.

How is it applied?

The nail technician will apply a base coat, then a coat of colour and finally apply a top coat. Between each coat you place your hands under a UV lamp to dry. Your nails are smudge proof from the second the nail technician completes your final nail! No need to worry about rooting in your handbag or putting on your seatbelt when you leave the salon, it’s 100% dry and smudge-proof! Magic!

The result?

A smudge-proof nail coating that feels as thin as regular nail polish but has the lasting-power of a gel.

The benefits?

  • The shellac finish has a dazzling, mirror-shine effect which doesn’t fade.
  • No chipping or flaking.
  • Your nails look freshly manicured for up to three weeks!
  • At just €20, it is amazing value for the length of time you get out of it.

I’m wearing Raspberry Parfait in the photos. My other favourites are Tropic Coral and Blackjack. See the full range of colours available here: http://www.cnd.com/products/colour-effects/nail-polish-colors

CND Shellac is available in 31 different colours. I get my Shellac done in Red Apple Hair & Beauty in Knocklyon, Dublin 16 www.redapplehairandbeauty.com It costs just €20 and I am never disappointed! If you are looking for a Shellac salon near you, check online but be careful, the prices can vary from €20 right up to €40 for the very same product and service, so shop around! 🙂 Shellac pedicure is also available.

Avril xXx

