Conquer the world – one blowdry at a time!

Achieve the perfect blowdry with just TWO things:

If somebody told me last year that if I could achieve a salon perfect blowdry by just using the right products, I probably would have thought they were having me on! Or at the very least, I would have assumed that they have naturally perfect, straight hair themselves and have no clue what the rest of us go through…

But fear not, some magical power overcame me in the past few months, I can FINALLY blowdry my own hair, JUST as good as the hairdresser! (Sometimes even better if I’m really getting into it!!).

My collection of blowdrying companions

Right, so it’s not a magical power, it’s actually just a mix of TWO key ingredients:

  1. The right products.
  2. Patience.

It’s no mystery which of the above two ingredients I was lacking in my quest for the perfect blowdry in the past! But it would appear that since turning 26 years young a couple of months ago, I have gathered sufficient amounts of number 2 to conquer what used to be the bane of my life; blowdrying my hair!

My hair has caused me many difficulties (and tantrums) in the past. And since it is such a relief, a seriously joyous feat, that I can now blowdry my own hair properly, I want to share my tips with those of you who actually know what I’m talking about when I refer to the stress that a failed attempt blowdry can cause. Those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about are probably one of two things (or maybe both!)

A) A man

B) Bald

It’s really not that difficult (says your one who took 25 years to master it). So here are my tips:

Firstly you need :

Step 1:

Apply your styling product to freshly washed, towel-dried hair. Concentrate on the roots if you’re using a product that gives volume. Brush it through so that it reaches right down to the tips.

Step 2:

Rough-dry the hair with the hairdryer for a couple of minutes to remove excess moisture, never begin the actual blowdrying process if the hair is still really damp, it’s next to impossible to get good results. Make sure your roots are fully dry at this point.

Step 3:

Separate your hair into sections with clips or grips. I usually tie mine up into a bun and release small sections at a time, it makes the blowdry more manageable.

Step 4:

It’s time for your wide-barreled brush. Starting at the roots, pull the hair taut with the brush and point the hairdryer nozzle downwards, following the brush as you work it through the hair from root to tip. Continue this over and over again with each section of your hair. Don’t point the hairdryer upwards, it’s going agaisnt the natural growth of the hair and causes frizz!

Step 5:

For those of you who love BIG hair and don’t want flat roots, it’s time for the rollers. I add a few rollers to the front of my hair to give it extra lift, blowdry the hair again while it’s in the rollers and it will help it set and give you extra bounce. Sometimes rollers aren’t needed, it all depends on the look you want to achieve.

Step 6:

Add a little shine serum to the ends if you think you need it, avoid the roots though because serums can make your hair limp and greasy. Finish off with a light mist of hairspray to protect your new do from the elements.

Volia! That’s it! Enjoy your gorgeous hair! Yes it takes time and yes it takes effort, but the more you practice the easier it gets.

For those of you who have never suffered the blowdrying-a-phobia that I speak of, I apologise for the irrelevance of this post! For the rest of you, I hope this has helped!

Happy blowdrying!

Boots Exquisite Super Hold and Shine is Available at Boots stores nationwide; €3.50. Umbertio Giannini Volume Spritz also available in Boots.

Avril xXx

