Hello Flawless!

After much deliberation (and thanks to all of you who voted on my beauty poll last week), I took the plunge and bought a new foundation. It was a big step for someone who has used Mac Studio Fix religiously for six years! After recently venturing into the unknown with the Real Techniques foundation brush, and being so happy with the change, I decided it was time that I got a new foundation to apply with my new brush!

I chose Benefit’s Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow!  This new, oil-free brightening liquid foundation builds from light to medium coverage for a natural complexion. As Benefit say; “It’s you…just more luminous & healthy looking.”

Of course I am a huge fan of Benefit as you all know, but one thing I had never used in the past was their foundation. I was stuck in a rut where my foundation was concerned, I was overdue a change. I heard great reports about Hello Flawless and as soon as I tried it out, all of the great reviews were validated.

The light, creamy, soft texture glides onto the skin. It gives a gorgeous glow which is hard to find in a foundation which also has good coverage (buildable – light to medium).

My favourite thing about Hello Flawless is that rather than covering your skin, it enhances it! It doesn’t mask your skin completely (something heavier foundations do) although it does give enough coverage to hide the imperfections. The dewy glow and light texture mean that you can still see your skin’s natural beauty. It is a very welcome change from the full-coverage matt-finish that I was used to.

Left: Mac Studio Fix NC25, Right: Benefit Hello Flawless I’m So Money Honey

You can see the dewy effect of Hello Flawless in the above swatch.

I have dry skin and this foundation feels as though it moisturises my skin while I’m wearing it. It has hydrating benefits plus SPF 25 so no need to worry about facial sun damage! It’s also jam-packed with Vitamins C and E which are known for their anti-aging properties.

The light diffusing properties are the key to the radiant glow it gives your skin. Having just changed over from long-term use of Mac Studio Fix, which is quite heavy duty in comparison, I now feel like my skin can breathe while I’m wearing foundation… must be something to do with the ‘Oxygen Wow’! It’s a really refreshing feeling!

The one drawback that I have found with Hello Flawless is that it creased a little on my upper eyelids. I think this is because of the soft and creamy texture of the foundation. Still, it’s a minor problem and all of the amazing advantages certainly outweigh it!

It is available in 9 shades. I am using “I’m so money – Honey” and I must say the colour is perfect. And as always with Benefit, the packaging is only gaw-geous and practical too, the plastic packaging means you can throw it in your handbag (or accidentally drop it on the bathroom floor as the case may be) without worrying about it smashing! 😉

Also, an added bonus, with the purchase of Hello Flawless, you get a free sample of Benefit’s POREfessional pore minimiser. Beauty tip from Benefit: Start with the POREfessional to get an unbelievably even application, quickly minimise the appearance of pores and help makeup stay put.

I give this a big thumbs up! Foundation is no longer about covering up your skin, it’s about enhancing it! Finally the penny has dropped! 🙂

€35 available in BT2 and Boots Liffey Valley.

Avril xXx

