Bronzed Goddess!

17 Instant Glow Shimmer Brick

As a big fan of the Bobbi Brown shimmer brick, it is a huge compliment to 17 when I say that I prefer the 17 Instant Glow Shimmer Brick!

Firstly, credit where credit is due, Bobbi Brown created the original shimmer brick, which has become a beauty must-have across the globe. However, when I recently purchased the Bobbi Brown shimmer brick in Pink Quartz (by mistake, I meant to get the Bronze), there was no way I was forking out another €40 for the bronze one. I had used it by the time I realised it was the wrong one. Clever me!

Anyway, I was in Boots and spotted 17’s Instant Glow Shimmer Brick in Gold Bronze. I couldn’t resist it. It cost under €10 and having tried the tester, it was exactly what I was after!

I have to say, it is one of my favourite makeup purchases of the year! The four bronze shades, ranging from light to dark – sheer, taupe, gold and brown, cover all of my bronzing and contouring needs.

It creates such a beautiful bronzed glow, and you can choose how light or dark you want it by focusing your bronzing brush on whichever bronzing colour you fancy. I’ve been using a light sweep of all four for daytime wear and for night, I concentrate more on the darker colours.

The powder gives a flawless finish. The texture is ultra smooth and soft and is not gritty whatsoever. It gives a really sheer and beautiful finish to your makeup. The gold and brown shades also double up as gorgeous eyeliners which I’ve used below my bottom lashes. The powder is so highly pigmented that it gives an outstandingly striking result and the golden tones look amazing against blue eyes.

I find the golden bronze colours really compliment red lips, which I ‘m all about at the moment. Pink / peach blushers can look a bit gaudy when paired with a red lip. In fact, I haven’t used blusher since purchasing it! I apply the powder with my Blank Canvas Contouring Brush.

I’m not saying that the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick isn’t good, it’s fantastic, and it’s not Bobbi Brown’s fault that I purchased the pink quartz instead of the bronze, but for a margin of the price, 17’s Shimmer Brick is one to snap up, I couldn’t be happier with the results!

Get yours in Boots stores nationwide.

Avril xXx

