From Dublin to Dubai – An Interview with Ireland’s Top Model, Laura Scanlon.

laura b&w hat

Today I’m delighted to share with you an exclusive interview with Dublin’s hottest export – Laura Scanlon! (It’s also Laura’s birthday today so Happy Birthday Laura! 🙂 xxx)

Firstly Laura, I want to say congratulations on your success, you are doing phenomenally well in the modelling industry and as a fellow Dubliner, I’m extremely proud to see you representing Ireland at an international level in such a competitive and demanding industry. What has been the highlight of your career so far?

Thanks so much Avril, it has been an amazing experience. The highlight would have to be the runway show for Moschino. The whole set up was amazing and I love the funky aspect to the clothes. It is not a brand I would usually go for so it was great to get the chance to walk for their SS13’ collection. Pics below of Laura wearing Moschino SS13′.

MOSCHINO

MOSCHINO 2

moschino 3

photo

You’re living in the fabulous Dubai for over a year now, I’ll be making my first trip there in April and I can’t wait, tell me a little bit about the major lifestyle/culture differences that you have noticed since moving there?

Well firstly you will love the glitz and glam of Dubai. Almost everywhere you go is spotless and extremely fancy. I love that aspect of Dubai. The culture is very different to what we are used to back home but you kind of get used to it. I did find it a bit intimidating at first but there are so many different nationalities living there so it is comfortable. You can do everything like at home, like go clubbing, the mall, the beach etc…you can make it as normal as you want.

Laura leopard print

Laura, you always look fabulous, both on and off the catwalk. In three words – how would you describe your own personal sense of style?

Smart, casual, feminine.

I agree! Who would you say is your ultimate style icon and why?

I’m a total high street girl but I just love Miranda Kerr and how she dresses. She is so sophisticated and smart and when she dresses down she still looks flawless and effortless. What a babe!

What’s your favourite thing to do when not working/on a day off?

Definitely work out and go to the beach if I’m in Dubai #Jealous!

laura dubai shoot

Which top model do you admire the most and why?

It would have to be Giselle, she is an all-rounder, a natural beauty that oozes sex appeal.

What products do you use in your daily beauty regime?

I always cleanse tone and moisturise daily. I use products like No7 and Nivea.

You have worked with so many fabulous fashion designers throughout your career, who is your favourite that you have worked with so far?

Well the most exciting designer I got to work with was in Dubai she is a local top designer called Zareena, she is inspired by Indian fashion and her gowns were just incredible. There was so much money put into the runway show and her designs that I felt like an Indian princess. That was definitely an exciting designer to work with and a special experience. See pics below.

zareena dress catwalk

laura zareena clapping

Laura wearing Zareena

We’re huge fans of both fashion and beauty here at Sinful Stilettos, tell us what your favourite makeup brand is?

I use Sephora foundation at the moment. It’s not available in Ireland but I find living in Dubai that it’s just so hot that I need a very light foundation that doesn’t feel heavy. I am also obsessed with Garniers new BB cream, it’s amazing for travelling as it has SPF and a great tint. Also you can’t beat MAC for the blushers, eye shadows and lippys!

Lipstick or lipgloss?

I’m a natural colour lipstick girl, I love MAC Viva Glam II (Me too!)

If you could choose to keep any outfit/jewellery that you have worn since your career has taken off, what would it be?

I got to model at the launch of Tiffany & Co’s new Rubedo range and loved the copper and rose gold colours. I’m not usually into jewellery but I definitely would have ran away with some that day if I could J Also I did a shoot for a magazine throughout the gulf and got to wear outfits by Versace and Dior, that was pretty cool. See pics below.

Laura wearing Versace

Laura wearing Versace

Dior

Laura wearing Dior

As an Irish girl living in Dubai, what do you miss most about Dublin?

My family and friends of course, it would be great to have them all with me but I’m really enjoying the experience.

I’m sure they’re all extremely proud of you so you should continue to enjoy it as much as you can! Before you leave us, can you please share the secret on how you maintain that killer body of yours???

Haha, thanks so much for the compliment. I don’t find it too hard to stay in shape to be honest. My background is fitness and I used to be big into athletics but recently I have gotten into crossfit training and I’m hooked. It’s a serious workout, different every day and gets you in really good strong shape in a few weeks.

Thanks so much for your time Laura. I wish you every success in the future and we’ll be sure to catch up in April during my visit to Dubai!

Bio: Laura is 25 years old and from Knocklyon, Dublin 16. She started modelling at a young age with former model agent Eddie Shanahan. She modelled for Pennys, Marks & Spencers and Fruit of the Loom. At the age of 16 Laura entered a Ford Supermodel competition and got to the final 10 out of 4,000 girls and got a contract with 1st Options. Laura did some work with them but as she was big into athletics at the time, she didn’t pursue it much until she was asked to represent Co. Wexford (under the granny rule, she was from wexford) in Miss Ireland 2010. She was runner up in the competition and that was when she met Andrea Roche and joined her agency when it first opened. Before Dubai, Laura was booking top catwalk shows and booking regular work with Brown Thomas, Xpose, Ireland AM… Watch this space!!!

laura black and white beauty shot

laura nude dress

Avril xXx

